The State Library of Pennsylvania's Genealogy and Local History collection consists of indexes, genealogies, state and county histories, family histories, regimental histories from the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, city directories, atlases, land warranty maps, ship passenger lists, and compilations of church and cemetery records. Our collection also includes microfilmed Federal Census Population Schedules for Pennsylvania from 1790 to 1930 and microfilmed special census schedules including the agricultural and business censuses.
The State Library's catalog is available online and may be searched by anyone. Many older items in our collection have been digitized and are available in the State Library of Pennsylvania's Digital Collections site.
In addition to our print and digital resources, the State Library subscribes to several genealogical databases including Ancestry.com, HeritageQuest and Fold3. The general public may use these databases on-site at the State Library. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania employees may access many of our databases remotely using thier State Libary of Pennsylvnia library card. For more information about our electronic databases, please go to our Databases for State Employees page.
MyHeritage Library Edition is available to Pennsylvania residents though the Pennsylvania POWER Library's collection of electronic resources. Pennsylvania residents may access POWER Library electronic databases through their local library or by obtaining a POWER Library e-card.
For more information about the State Library of Pennsylvania, please see the Library's website. If you need further assistance or wish to book a research appointment, please see the State Library's Contact Information page.
The State Library does not endorse or recommend independent researchers. The library is not responsible for the accuracy of the information provided herein. This list is provided as a courtesy and lists those who have requested to be included. Independent researchers are not employees of the State Library.
The Professional Researcher list is updated annually during the first quarter of each year, however changes can be made in the interim by contacting the State Library at ra-reflib@pa.gov.
The State Library does not endorse or recommend independent researchers. The library is not responsible for the accuracy of the information provided herein. This list is provided as a courtesy and lists those who have requested to be included. Independent researchers are not employees of the State Library.
The Professional Researcher list is updated annually during the first quarter of each year, however changes can be made in the interim by contacting the State Library at ra-reflib@pa.gov.
The State Library does not endorse or recommend independent researchers. The library is not responsible for the accuracy of the information provided herein. This list is provided as a courtesy and lists those who have requested to be included. Independent researchers are not employees of the State Library.
The Professional Researcher list is updated annually during the first quarter of each year, however changes can be made in the interim by contacting the State Library at ra-reflib@pa.gov.
The State Library does not endorse or recommend independent researchers. The library is not responsible for the accuracy of the information provided herein. This list is provided as a courtesy and lists those who have requested to be included. Independent researchers are not employees of the State Library.
The Professional Researcher list is updated annually during the first quarter of each year, however changes can be made in the interim by contacting the State Library at ra-reflib@pa.gov.
Lakewood, CO 80226
