District Library Center Guide

The resources offered to member libraries through district funding and through district library centers (DLCs) are probably the most varied services across the state. Best practice is to be familiar with the services and resources provided to the member libraries through district library center aid as well as the services offered through the DLC.

Some common types of district resources include:

• Professional reference collections – professional development materials for staff and trustees. 
• Programming materials – materials to facilitate programming for all ages (PA One Book trunks, STEM kits, Padcasters, summer reading manuals, coding) 
• Digital resources – OverDrive, Hoopla, Gale, EBSCO, etc. 
• Professional support software – Library Aware, Breakout EDU, Canva, Slack, etc. 
• DLC reference – typically DLCs have larger reference collections than other member libraries; these collections are public-facing and are the responsibility of the DLC even if some support is provided through district funds. 

Generally, consultants select platforms, databases, and professional reference materials. Some consultants do more granular collection development (such as selecting titles for OverDrive or the items in Maker Kits); others rely on other DLC or member library staff to do that work.  

Housing district resources is typically the purview of the DLC. Other options may include rotating collections among member libraries, or housing collections in an administrative office not located in the DLC. Consultants are typically in charge of ensuring inventory purchased with district library center aid is accurate and up to date. District resources provided through district funds may be managed through the DLC, ILS, or they may use other reservation and inventory systems. It is best practice to familiarize yourself with how materials are recorded and tracked for each collection in your district. 

When preparing the District Negotiated Agreement, having data available for making the best decisions and recommendations about services and resources the district provides to meet strategic goals is helpful.

One final aspect of district resources – you, the consulting staff, are a resource. You may be the point of contact for member library directors, staff, and boards for all manner of questions. Familiarize yourself with the resources available to answer those questions. It is very helpful to compile FAQ resources for yourself as easy reference for frequently asked questions in your district. 

The best resource for you starts with your colleagues. There are many ways to reach other consultants with tricky questions. Other professional networks can be developed through organizations such as Pennsylvania Library Association, American Library Association, and Pennsylvania Association for Nonprofits. Often your job as a resource is to refer your librarians to others to help them create their own community of learning. 

It is best to invest in your own development and education to be the best resource possible for your member libraries. Do not neglect your own professional development and education in your budgets! Track the most frequently asked topics and areas of need and seek out training targeting those areas.