Skip to Main Content

Genealogy at the State Library of Pennsylvania

A guide to the resources available through the State Library of Pennsylvania and places librarians go to find that information
Subjects: Genealogy

The State Library of Pennsylvania Genealogy Collection

The State Library of Pennsylvania Genealogy and Local History collection consists of indexes, genealogies, state and county histories, family histories, regimental histories from the Revolutionary and Civil Wars,  city directories, atlases, land warranty maps, ship passenger lists, and compilations of church and cemetery records. Our collection also includes Federal Census records for Pennsylvania, from 1790 to 1930, on microfilm, agricultural and business censuses. Many older items in our collection have been digitized and are available in the PA Photos and Documents Collection at the Pennsylvania Power Library website.

In addition to our print and digital resources, the State Library also subscribes to several genealogical database including Ancestry.com, HeritageQuest and Fold3. These databases can be searched on-site at the State Library. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania employees may access many of our databases remotely using thier State Libary of Pennsylvnia library card. For more information about our electronic databases, please go to our A- Z Databases page.

For more information about the State Library of Pennsylvania, please see the Library's website. If you need further assistance or wish to book a research appointment, please see the State Library's Contact Information page.

State Library of Pennsylvania Genealogy Lunch-n-Learn Programs

State Library of Pennsylvania Genealogical Research Guides

Need More Help? Check Out Our Professional Genealogy Researcher List.

The State Library does not endorse or recommend independent researchers. The library is not responsible for the accuracy of the information provided herein. This list is provided as a courtesy and lists those who have requested to be included. Independent researchers are not employees of the State Library.

Ancestor Place
Contact: Marcia McCartt
Telephone: 513-539-7406
Email: blakatgal@aol.com
Website: www.ancestorplace.com
Description of Services: Research services includes DNA research; All Pa Counties; Md; Delaware; NJ; NY; Ohio; Indiana; Kentucky; West Virginia; Virginia.  I also regularly assist people with their research in the British Isles and Ireland. 

 

Cambria Ancestry
Contact: Dianne O'Shea
Address: P.O. Box 7
               Johnstown, PA 15907
Website: http://www.cambriaancestry.com/
Description of Services: I am available to perform research involving Cambria County, PA. I will search census records; Johnstown City directories; Cambria County newspapers; and Johnstown telephone directories. Extremely familiar with local  biographical history books and Johnstown Floods. Performing research since 1986. I teach genealogy classes, receive assignments tracing/locating missing heirs having Cambria County roots, etc. Secretary of local genealogy society since 1987. Visit my website, Cambria Ancestry, or send a SASE for free brochure.

 
Chester Co. Archives & Record Services
Address: 602 Westtown Rd, Ste. 080
                West Chester, PA 19380-0990
Telephone: 610-344-6760
Email: ccarchives@chesco.org
Website: https://www.chesco.org/192/Archives-Records
Description of Services: Repository of county government records. Will search birth and death records (1852-1855, 1893-1907), marriage records (1852-1855, 1885-1930), indexes to wills, administrations and Orphan’s Court proceedings (1714-1923) and naturalization (1798-1989). Many record indexes available on our website. Will photocopy specified documents. Contact us for list of fees.

 

The State Library does not endorse or recommend independent researchers. The library is not responsible for the accuracy of the information provided herein. This list is provided as a courtesy and lists those who have requested to be included. Independent researchers are not employees of the State Library.

Kline Research & Genealogy Services
Contact: Kathleen Kline, M.S.L.S.
Email: klineresearch@gmail.com
Description of Services: Former librarian at the State Library of Pennsylvania available for genealogy and general research, with a specialty in family mysteries. Certificate from the Boston University Genealogical Research Program and former principal researcher at (now defunct) Genealogists.com. 
Lancaster History
Address: 230 North President Avenue
               Lancaster, PA 17603
Telephone: Phone: (717) 392-4633
Website: https://www.lancasterhistory.org/
Email: info@lancasterhistory.org
Description of Services: Research Services Information

The State Library does not endorse or recommend independent researchers. The library is not responsible for the accuracy of the information provided herein. This list is provided as a courtesy and lists those who have requested to be included. Independent researchers are not employees of the State Library.

Roberta P. McMullen
Address: 9 Timberline Dr.
                Quarryvillle, PA 17566
Telephone: 717-786-8060
Email: bobbipmcmullen@gmail.com
Description of Services: Bobbi McMullen is a professional genealogist of over 15 years with research specialties of Lancaster County, PA, Chester County, PA and Lineage Society applications. She holds a Bachelor's degree from Wilmington University with a minor in History. Bobbi has lectured on preparation of lineage papers, internet resources for genealogy and resolving complex lineage problems.
                                       Services: Specializes in all types of Lineage Society papers. Also general genealogical research, Pennsylvania with specialties of Lancaster and Chester counties.

                                       Geographic Specialties: Pennsylvania, Mid-Atlantic

The State Library does not endorse or recommend independent researchers. The library is not responsible for the accuracy of the information provided herein. This list is provided as a courtesy and lists those who have requested to be included. Independent researchers are not employees of the State Library.

Jerry Sherard
Telephone: 303-988-9530
Email: shep964ard@hotmail.com
Website: https://miningaccidents.weebly.com/
Description of Services: Can provide mining accident information 1869-1882 Eastern PA only, fatal & nonfatal; 1883-1940 fatal & nonfatal; 1941-1942 fatal.  No charge.

 
Taylor Research Group
Contact Person: John Taylor
Address: 3333 Connecticut Ave., NW, Suite 3
                Washington, D.C. 20008
Telephone: 703-822-4658 (Office)
                   703-373-8137 (Direct)
Email: johntaylor@taylorresearchgroup.com
Description of Services: Specialize in federal, state and local records reviews. Will perform broad, due diligence research or collect specific documentation on a range of subjects, including: military, government agency or corporate issues, city directory reviews, regulatory matters, environmental issues, land records, and historical matters. Our staff is well-versed in the various branches of the National Archives, the Library of Congress, state and local archives/libraries, government and military agency archives/libraries, trade associations, and historical societies. Please note, however, that we do not provide genealogical services.

 
Frances Wise Waite
Address: 90 Locust Trail
                Newville, PA 17241
Telephone: 717-776-8432
Email: SEPAfran@aol.com
Description of Services: Fran will search records and analyze family history from the 1600s to 2000s in Eastern Pennsylvania, with emphasis on BUCKS, CHESTER, LEHIGH, MONTGOMERY, NORTHAMPTON, and early PHILADELPHIA counties. She lives near the New Jersey Archives, and will work on families who were on both sides of the Delaware River. With over 35 years experience in many types of family history related committee and research projects, Fran is a member of the Association of Professional Genealogists. Retired after 25 years as library assistant for the Bucks County Historical Society, she is a full time researcher.