This section of the survey collects data on selected types of materials. It does not cover all materials (i.e., microform, loose sheet music, maps, and pictures) for which expenditures are reported under Print Materials Expenditures, Electronic Materials Expenditures, and Other Material Expenditures.
Under this category report only items that have been purchased, leased or licensed by the library, a consortium, the state library, a donor or other person or entity.
Included items must only be accessible with a valid library card or at a physical library location; inclusion in the catalog is not required. New subsections were created to break out the types of collections.
Exclude:
Do not include items freely available without monetary exchange.
Do not include items that are permanently retained by the patron; count only items that have a set circulation period where it is available for their use.
Both calendar year and fiscal year libraries should report collections as of December 31, 2024.
|
Number |
Data Element |
Description/Definition |
|
|
MODIFIED: Updated Data Element for clarification |
E-1 |
Number of Items in the library's catalog as of December 31, 2024 |
Report items the library has as part of the collection and catalogued, whether purchased, leased, licensed, or donated as gifts. Items that are packaged together as a unit and are checked out as a unit should be counted as 1 physical unit. For example, if an audiobook contains 4 CDs, count as 1 unit. |
Books are non-serial printed publications (including bound music scores and maps) that are bound in hard or soft covers, or in loose-leaf format. Include non-serial government documents. Report the number of physical units, including duplicates, in each category requested in these questions.
|
Number |
Data Element |
Description/Definition |
|
|
|
E-2 |
Number of Print Materials - excluding magazines/periodicals |
Report a single figure that includes books in print. Include non-serial government documents. Report the number of physical units, including duplicates. Do not include periodicals. For smaller libraries, if volume data are not available, count the number of titles. Books packaged together as a unit (e.g., a 2-volume set) and checked out as a unit are counted as one physical unit. |
|
|
E-3 |
Number of Current Print Periodical Titles (Subscriptions) |
Report currently held subscriptions to print periodicals titles only that are available in the library regardless of who purchased the subscription. Periodicals include journals, magazines and newspapers published on a regular basis. Do not include ephemeral periodicals such as freely distributed newsletters or shoppers' guides. Do not include titles of expired subscriptions that may still be available to patrons. |
|
Status |
Number |
Data Element |
Description/Definition |
|
|
E-4 |
Number of Audio - Physical Units |
Include materials circulated in a fixed, physical format on which sounds (only) are stored (recorded) and that can be reproduced (played back) mechanically, electronically or both. This includes records, audiocassettes, audio cartridges, audio discs (including audio CD-ROMs), audio reels, talking books and other sound recordings. Report the number of physical units, including duplicates. For smaller libraries, if volume data are not available, count the number of titles. Items packaged together as a unit (e.g., two audiocassettes for one recorded book) and checked out as a unit are counted as one physical unit. Do not include downloadable electronic audio files. |
|
|
E-5 |
Number of Video - Physical Units |
These are materials circulated in a fixed, physical format on which moving pictures are recorded, with or without sound. Electronic playback reproduces pictures, with or without sound, using a television receiver or computer monitor. Video formats may include tape, DVD, CD-ROM. Report the number of physical units, including duplicates. For smaller libraries, if volume data are not available, count the number of titles. Items packaged together as a unit (e.g., two DVD for one movie) and checked out as a unit are counted as one physical unit. Do not include downloadable electronic video files. |
|
|
E-6 |
Number of Other Physical Materials |
Include the number of materials in the collection that are not included in the other reportable categories. These circulating materials could include; gaming consoles, tools, laptops, tablets, wireless hot spots, cooking ware, gardening tools, instruments, etc. |
|
Status |
Number |
Data Element |
Description/Definition |
|
|
E-7 |
TOTAL Number of Physical Items in the Collection - excluding periodicals |
All circulating physical items in the collection. These are materials in a fixed, physical format available for use outside the library. This includes Print Materials, Audio physical units, Video physical units, and Other Circulating Physical Items. This is auto calculated. |
E-books are the digital equivalent of printed books that may be accessed online from an electronic device. E-books also include e-comics. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain when answering the following questions.
New Yes/No questions have been added. Please take note the following clarifications:
|
Status |
Number |
Data Element |
Description/Definition |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-8 |
Did the library provide access to e-books purchased solely by the library? |
Definition: E-books are the digital equivalent of printed books that may be accessed online from an electronic device. E-books also include e-comics. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. Answer Yes or No. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-9 |
Did the library provide access to e-books purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local, system, district, or regional level? |
Definition: E-books are the digital equivalent of printed books that may be accessed online from an electronic device. E-books also include e-comics. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. Answer Yes or No. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-10 |
Did the library provide access to e-books provided by the state library agency or another state agency at no or minimal cost to the library? |
Definition: E-books are the digital equivalent of printed books that may be accessed online from an electronic device. E-books also include e-comics. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. No action required - prepopulated by OCL. |
|
MODIFIED: Not Reviewed Removed from the PLS; kept for local use. |
E-11 |
Number of Electronic Books (E-Books |
E-books are the digital equivalent of printed books that may be accessed online from an electronic device. E-books also include e-comics. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain when answering the following questions. (Beginning with FY2024, this information will not be monitored by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries and has been removed from the Public Libraries Survey.) |
E-serials are periodic digital publications equivalent to printed newspapers, magazines, and similar media that are viewed as entire issues rather than as single articles returned from a research query. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain when answering the following questions.
New Yes/No questions have been added. Please take note the following clarifications:
|
Status |
Number |
Data Element |
Description/Definition |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-12 |
Did the library provide access to digital e-serials purchased solely by the library? |
E-serials are periodic digital publications equivalent to printed newspapers, magazines, and similar media that are viewed as entire issues rather than as single articles returned from a research query. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. Answer Yes or No. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-13 |
Did the library provide access to e-serials purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local, system, district, or regional level? |
E-serials are periodic digital publications equivalent to printed newspapers, magazines, and similar media that are viewed as entire issues rather than as single articles returned from a research query. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. Answer Yes or No. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-14 |
Did the library provide access to e-serials provided by the state library agency or another state agency at no or minimal cost to the library? |
E-serials are periodic digital publications equivalent to printed newspapers, magazines, and similar media that are viewed as entire issues rather than as single articles returned from a research query. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. No action required - prepopulated by OCL. |
|
MODIFIED: Updated data element description |
E-15 |
Number of e-serial titles (subscriptions) |
E-serials are periodic digital publications equivalent to printed newspapers, magazines, and similar media that are viewed as entire issues rather than as single articles returned from a research query. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. Report current electronic e-serials subscriptions available through the library regardless of who purchased the subscription. Include periodical subscriptions purchased by the system headquarters or district center for use by the reporting library. |
E-audios are digital files of sound only (e.g., audiobooks, music) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain when answering the following questions.
New Yes/No questions have been added. Please take note the following clarifications:
|
Status |
Number |
Data Element |
Description/Definition |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-16 |
Did the library provide access to e-audios purchased solely by the library? |
E-audios are digital files of sound only (e.g., audiobooks, music) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. Answer Yes or No. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-17 |
Did the library provide access to e-audios purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local, system, district, or regional level? |
E-audios are digital files of sound only (e.g., audiobooks, music) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. Answer Yes or No. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-18 |
Did the library provide access to e-audios provided by the state library agency or another state agency at no or minimal cost to the library? |
E-audios are digital files of sound only (e.g., audiobooks, music) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. No action required - prepopulated by OCL. |
|
MODIFIED: Not reviewed; kept for local use |
E-19 |
Number of e-audios (Audio Downloadable Units) |
E-audios are digital files of sound only (e.g., audiobooks, music) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. (Beginning with FY2024, this information will not be monitored by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries and has been removed from the Public Libraries Survey.) |
E-videos are digital files of moving visual images with or without sound (e.g., movies, television shows) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain when answering the following questions.
New Yes/No questions have been added. Please take note the following clarifications:
|
Status |
Number |
Data Element |
Description/Definition |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-20 |
Did the library provide access to e-videos purchased solely by the library? |
E-videos are digital files of moving visual images with or without sound (e.g., movies, television shows) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-21 |
Did the library provide access to e-videos purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local, system, district, or regional level? |
E-videos are digital files of moving visual images with or without sound (e.g., movies, television shows) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-22 |
Did the library provide access to e-videos provided by the state library agency or another state agency at no or minimal cost to the library? |
E-videos are digital files of moving visual images with or without sound (e.g., movies, television shows) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. No action required - prepopulated by OCL. |
|
MODIFIED: Not Reviewed Removed from the PLS; kept for local use. |
E-23 |
Number of e-videos |
E-videos are digital files of moving visual images with or without sound (e.g., movies, television shows) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain. (Beginning with FY2024, this information will not be monitored by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries and has been removed from the Public Libraries Survey.) |
Research databases are organized collections of electronic data or records (e.g., facts, abstracts, articles, bibliographic data, texts, photographs) that can be searched to retrieve information. Do not consider resources available for free when answering the following questions.
New Yes/No questions have been added. Please take note the following clarifications:
|
Status |
Number |
Data Element |
Description/Definition |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-24 |
Did the library provide access to research databases purchased solely by the library? |
Research databases are organized collections of electronic data or records (e.g., facts, abstracts, articles, bibliographic data, texts, photographs) that can be searched to retrieve information. Do not consider resources available for free. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-25 |
Did the library provide access to research databases purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local, system, district, or regional level? |
Research databases are organized collections of electronic data or records (e.g., facts, abstracts, articles, bibliographic data, texts, photographs) that can be searched to retrieve information. Do not consider resources available for free. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-26 |
Did the library provide access to research databases provided by the state library agency or another state agency at no or minimal cost to the library? |
Research databases are organized collections of electronic data or records (e.g., facts, abstracts, articles, bibliographic data, texts, photographs) that can be searched to retrieve information. Do not consider resources available for free. No action required - prepopulated by OCL. |
|
MODIFIED: Not Reviewed
Removed from the PLS; kept for local use. |
E-27 |
Local/Other Electronic Collections |
Local/Other Electronic Collections: Report the number of electronic collections. An electronic collection is a collection of electronically stored data or unit records (facts, bibliographic data, abstracts, texts, photographs, music, video, etc.) with a common user interface and software for the retrieval and use of the data. An electronic collection may be organized, curated and electronically shared by the library, or rights may be provided by a third-party vendor. An electronic collection may be funded by the library, or provided through cooperative agreement with other libraries, the system or the district. Do not include electronic collections that are provided by outside or independent third parties and freely linked to on the web. Do not include e-books. Electronic Collections do not have a circulation period and may be retained by the patron. Remote access to the collection may or may not require authentication. Unit records may or may not be included in the library's catalog; the library may or may not select individual titles. Include electronic collections that are available online or are locally hosted in the library. NOTE: The data or records are usually collected with a particular intent and relate to a defined topic. (Beginning with FY2024, this information will not be monitored by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries and has been removed from the Public Libraries Survey.) |
|
MODIFIED: Removed |
|
State Electronic Collections |
|
|
MODIFIED: Removed |
|
TOTAL Electronic Collections |
|
Online learning platforms primarily provide instruction, tools, and resources to enhance education, lifelong learning, and skill building. Platforms may offer homework assistance, language learning, test preparation, professional development, resume assistance, hobby instruction, etc. Do not consider resources available for free when answering the following questions.
New Yes/No questions have been added. Please take note the following clarifications:
|
Status |
Number |
Data Element |
Description/Definition |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-28 |
Did the library provide access to online learning platforms purchased solely by the library? |
Online learning platforms primarily provide instruction, tools, and resources to enhance education, lifelong learning, and skill building. Platforms may offer homework assistance, language learning, test preparation, professional development, resume assistance, hobby instruction, etc. Do not consider resources available for free. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-29 |
Did the library provide access to online learning platforms purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local, system, district, or regional level? |
Online learning platforms primarily provide instruction, tools, and resources to enhance education, lifelong learning, and skill building. Platforms may offer homework assistance, language learning, test preparation, professional development, resume assistance, hobby instruction, etc. Do not consider resources available for free. |
|
MODIFIED: NEW |
E-30 |
Did the library provide access to online learning platforms provided by the state library agency or another state agency at no or minimal cost to the library? |
Online learning platforms primarily provide instruction, tools, and resources to enhance education, lifelong learning, and skill building. Platforms may offer homework assistance, language learning, test preparation, professional development, resume assistance, hobby instruction, etc. Do not consider resources available for free. No action required - prepopulated by OCL. |