Pennsylvania is committed to ensuring that all Pennsylvanians can easily access the library resources that exist not only in their own communities but also across the Commonwealth. The interlibrary delivery service makes it affordable for state-supported libraries to participate in a statewide delivery service that moves library materials across the state in a timely and cost-effective way and encourages sharing of materials, saving more than 60 percent in delivery costs. The Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources (POWER) library network provides online magazine and reference materials for Pennsylvania residents to use in the library or remotely.
The statewide electronic library catalog, also known as the Access Pennsylvania Database, provides Pennsylvanians online access to library holdings of Pennsylvania schools, public libraries, college and university collections, special libraries, and intermediate unit materials. This is the largest online catalog of its type in North America. As part of the Library Access program, Pennsylvanians have online access to professional reference librarians 24/7 through Pennsylvania’s virtual reference service called Chat with a Librarian.
Grants are awarded competitively to organizations that have the capacity to develop and implement these services for public (including volunteers, staff, and library boards), academic (postsecondary), school (K-12), and special libraries (such as those in prisons) across Pennsylvania.
No specific dollar amount is set aside to fund grants in the categories. Available funds are awarded to organizations with applications that are the most competitive and closely aligned with the goals and outcomes outlined in the Office of Commonwealth Libraries' Five-Year Plan.
Applications for a Library Access grant are submitted via eGrants. Access eGrants through MyPDESuite with your Keystone ID.
Project work must occur from July 1 through June 30.
Click the links below to learn more about how to apply:
Successful projects may be selected for renewals at the discretion of the Pennsylvania Department of Education. If selected, contracts may be renewed annually for an additional four years. Each subsequent year of the grant, after the first, is contingent upon satisfactory performance and the availability of funds. Additionally, the award amount in subsequent years may change from the initial contract year. If renewed, the grant recipient will be notified in writing, on an annual basis, of the amount of the grant award and the time period in which the grant funds must be spent.
| 2025-26 Library Access | |
| Renewal Year | |
| April - May 2025 | Applications accepted |
| May 2025 | Application review period |
| June 2025 | Awards announced |
| July 2025 | Manage a Grant Webinar TBA |
| July 1, 2025 | Grant activities begin |
| >= Monthly | Financial reports due |
| October 30, 2025 | Quarter 1 narrative report due |
| January 30, 2026 | Quarter 2 narrative report due |
| April 30, 2026 | Quarter 3 narrative report due |
| June 30, 2026 | Grant activities end (all funds encumbered, and supplies/materials received) |
| August 30, 2026 | Final report due (all funds expended) |
Eligible applicants must be a library focused non-profit organization.
The organization must be able to support continuity of services and resources provided statewide through interlibrary delivery or POWER library.
The organization must be able to provide continuity of cost-effective delivery service that is designed to facilitate the transportation of interlibrary loans and other educational items throughout Pennsylvania. Or the organization must be able to provide continuity of service of centrally administering electronic statewide library services.
These services include but are not limited to: maintaining a shared resource management system to facilitate interlibrary lending of materials, providing virtual reference services by library professionals, coordinating access to electronic resource subscriptions, hosting digital image collections from Pennsylvania libraries and other non-profit organizations, providing training to library professionals, maintaining an archive of documentation and other resources for librarians and managing access to all services provided within the POWER Library portal.
Use eGrants navigation. DO NOT use browser buttons.
Save often.
All sections must be marked 'Complete' to activate the 'Complete' button to submit the application for review.
This is VERY IMPORTANT. Reference this information when completing the application.
Because multiple applications for the various grant categories can be submitted, an application identifier must be entered for each application submitted.
Use the following key to determine which code (G#.#) should be entered in the Project Identifier Code section of eGrants.
|
G1.1 Service Structure Evolution |
G2.1 Library Empowerment |
G3.1 Elevating Libraries |
|
G1.2 Digital Library Support |
G2.2 User-Focused Service Design |
G3.2 Literacy Leadership |
|
G1.3 Environmental Impact |
G2.3 Strengthening Governance and Leadership |
G3.3 Professional Development |
Applicants must have conducted an annual audit in accordance with generally accepted auditing standards for its most recent annual accounting period. If findings were reported on the applicant’s most recent annual audit, the applicant must show evidence of the implementation of a corrective action plan or show satisfactory evidence as to why a corrective action plan is not feasible or needed at this time.
Applicants must demonstrate that they have the essential experience and capacity needed to provide statewide services to public, academic (postsecondary), school (K-12), and special libraries and library staff across Pennsylvania.
The system will not accept attachments over 3MB (megabyte). If you are scanning your attachments, please set the scanner resolution to low. Attachments can only be submitted in WORD, EXCEL and/or PDF formats. Make sure each document is accurately labeled.
Attachments include:
1. Uniform Grant Guidance (PDF) policies and procedures
2. Internet Safety Certification (PDF)
3. Supporting documents that demonstrate the applicant’s experience and capacity with developing and/or implementing library services statewide.
4. Equipment - $10,000 Request for Approval form confirmation email.
The Pennsylvania Department of Education’s eGrants System is used by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries to facilitate the electronic completion and submission of grant applications as well as the contracted agreements. The Getting Started Guide that covers the basic function of eGrants is available on the right side of the eGrants 'Home' tab.
Once the application is completed, the workflow status should show "Application Received" OR "Submitted for Peer Review". Seeing "Application Received" OR "Submitted for Peer Review" is the confirmation that the application has been submitted for review.
To change the workflow status from “Data Entry” to "Application Received” OR "Submitted for Peer Review", the Complete Step located at the bottom of the application home page must be clicked. If that button is inactive for you, please make sure all sections of the application are marked as complete. On the application home page, a checkmark will appear next to the section if it’s been marked as complete.
Contact the eGrants help desk at ra-egrantshelp@pa.gov with eGrants system navigation or other technical questions you may have.
After the review process is completed, all applicants will be contacted with the next steps as it pertains to them.
Incomplete applications or those that do not meet the minimum requirements as outlined here will not be reviewed.
Reviewers will use the point values below to score each application.
|
Project Need The need for the project is clearly linked to the target population and is supported by qualitative and quantitative data. |
||||
|
20 points |
The need is strongly and clearly articulated. Both qualitative and quantitative data is provided that supports the target audience’s need for the proposed project. |
|||
| 10 points |
The need is clearly articulated. Either qualitative or quantitative data is provided that supports the target audience’s need for the proposed project. |
|||
| 5 points |
The need is not clearly articulated. Little qualitative or quantitative data is provided that supports the target audience’s need for the proposed project. |
|||
| 0 points |
The need is not articulated. No data is provided that supports the target audience’s need for the proposed project. |
|||
|
Strategic Plan The organization’s strategic plan supports the implementation of the proposed project. |
||||
| 20 points |
The applicant’s strategic plan supports the proposed project’s implementation, specifically recommending its implementation. |
|||
| 10 points |
The applicant’s strategic plan implies support for the project’s implementation. |
|||
| 0 points |
The applicant’s strategic plan does not support the project’s implementation. |
|||
|
Project Results The proposed project’s results are reasonable and achievable within the project’s timeframe. |
||||
| 20 points |
The proposed project’s results are reasonable and achievable within the project’s timeframe. |
|||
| 10 points |
The proposed project’s results are reasonable but may not be achievable within the project’s timeframe. |
|||
| 0 points |
The applicant’s proposed results are not reasonable or achievable. |
|||
|
Project Purpose The purpose statement is clear and identifies a benefit that is desirable for the grant category area. |
||||
| 20 points |
The purpose statement is very clear and identifies a benefit that is highly desirable and innovative for the grant category area. |
|||
| 10 points |
The purpose statement is clear and identifies a benefit that is desirable for the grant category area. |
|||
| 5 points |
The purpose statement is vague and identifies a benefit that may be desirable for the grant category area. |
|||
| 0 points |
The purpose statement is not clear and/or does not identify a benefit that may be desirable for the grant category area. |
|||
|
Project Activities The project activities and methods support project goals and projected results. |
||||
| 20 points |
The project activities and methods are innovative and support its goals and projected results. |
|||
| 10 points |
The project activities and methods loosely support its goals and projected results. |
|||
| 0 points |
The project activities and methods do not support its goals and projected results. |
|||
|
Project Outputs Collection of the project’s output measures are feasible/reasonable and support project goals and projected results. An output is a direct product of program activities, usually measured in terms of work accomplished. It is a quantitative measurement. Outputs can be used to measure outcomes; but outcomes cannot be used to measure outputs. |
||||
| 20 points |
The output measures are feasible to collect and do not place an undue burden on others involved. The outputs support the project’s goals and projected results. |
|||
| 10 points |
The output measures are feasible to collect but may place some burden on others involved. The outputs support the project’s goals and projected results. |
|||
| 5 points |
The output measures are present to collect but definitely place an undue burden on others involved. The outputs vaguely support the project’s goals and projected results. |
|||
| 0 points |
The project does not identify output measures that are feasible to collect, and/or the outputs do not clearly support the project’s goals and projected results. |
|||
|
Project Outcomes Collection of the proposed project’s outcomes is feasible/reasonable, and they support project goals and projected results. An outcome is benefits or changes for individuals or populations during or after participating in program activities, including new knowledge, increased skills, changed attitudes or values, modified behavior, improved condition or altered status. It is usually a qualitative measurement. Outputs can be used to measure outcomes; but outcomes cannot be used to measure outputs. |
||||
| 20 points |
The proposed project outcomes are reasonable, and do not place an undue burden on others involved. The outcomes support the project’s goals and projected results. |
|||
| 10 points |
The proposed project outcomes are reasonable but may place some burden on others involved. The outcomes support the project’s goals and projected results. |
|||
| 5 points |
The proposed project outcomes are reasonable but definitely place an undue burden on others involved. The outcomes support the project’s goals and projected results. |
|||
| 0 points | The proposed project outcomes are not reasonable to collect and/or the outcomes do not support the project’s goals and projected results. | |||
|
Project Timeline The proposed project’s implementation plan is feasible and achievable within the grant timeframe. |
||||
| 20 points | The proposed project’s implementation plan is feasible and achievable within the grant timeframe. | |||
| 10 points | The proposed project’s implementation plan is feasible but may not be achievable within the grant time frame. | |||
| 5 points | The proposed project’s implementation plan may not be feasible or achievable within the grant time frame. | |||
| 0 points | The proposed project’s implementation plan is not feasible and is not achievable within the grant time frame. | |||
|
Project Budget The proposed project’s budget clearly describes costs that are reasonable and related to project activities and outcomes. |
||||
| 20 points | The proposed project’s budget clearly describes costs that are reasonable and related to project activities and outcomes. | |||
| 10 points | The proposed project’s budget describes costs that are reasonable and related to project activities and outcomes; but some related costs are not included. | |||
| 0 points | The proposed project’s budget does not describe costs that are reasonable and/or related to project activities and outcomes. | |||
|
Local Funds Used to Support Project The proposed budget includes local funds or in-kind resources that support project implementation. |
||||
| 20 points | Excluding state or federal funds, the proposed budget includes both the organization’s own resources and support from partner organizations that are participating in the project. | |||
| 10 points | Excluding state or federal funds, the proposed budget includes the organization’s own resources to support the project. | |||
| 5 points | Excluding state or federal funds, the proposed budget includes support from partner organizations that are participating in the project. | |||
| 0 points | Excluding state or federal funds, the proposed budget does not include the organization’s own resources nor support from partner organizations that are participating in the project. | |||
|
Organizational Audit Compliance with organizational audit requirements; and, if applicable, implementation of plan of corrective action for any audit findings. |
||||
| 20 points | Applicant has conducted recent organizational audit without any findings. | |||
| 10 points | Applicant has conducted recent organizational audit with findings and has implemented a corrective plan of action (or demonstrated a plan is not needed/feasible). | |||
| 0 points | Applicant has not conducted recent organizational audit. | |||
|
Uniform Grant Administration Requirements Adoption of policies and procedures that comply with federal Uniform Grant Administration requirements. |
||||
| 20 points | All policies and procedures have been adopted, and they comply with federal requirements. | |||
| 10 points | All policies and procedures have been adopted but require the organization to make some changes to comply with federal requirements. | |||
|
Supporting Attachments The application’s supporting documents demonstrate the organization’s experience and capacity to implement and achieve project activities/goals. |
||||
| 20 points | The application’s supporting materials demonstrate more than five years of highly satisfactory experience as an OCL Statewide Library Service provider. | |||
| 10 points | The application’s supporting materials demonstrate two to five years of highly satisfactory experience as an OCL Statewide Library Service provider. | |||
| 5 points | The application’s supporting materials demonstrate less than two years of highly satisfactory experience as an OCL Statewide Library Service provider. | |||
| 0 points | The application’s supporting materials do not demonstrate satisfactory experience and/or capacity to provide Statewide Library Services; or past Statewide Library Service grants have been poorly managed. | |||
To be announced