Pennsylvania Lumber Museum

Learn about Pennsylvania’s lumber heritage and the birth of modern forestry management.

This event took place on Thursday, November 18, 2021

This session was recorded and has been added to the  State Library's Lunch-and-Learn archive online .

Continuous-cover management and attractiveness of managed Scots pine forests. Canadian Journal of Forest Research. v. 50, Issue 8

Forest management, characterized in many northern countries by the predominance of clear cutting and growing even-aged and -sized trees, has simplified the structure of boreal forests. Consequences include alterations in cultural ecosystem services such as forest attractiveness, i.e., combined aesthetic and recreational values.

Power Library - Environmental Science

Forest Management Update by United States. State and Private Forestry. Northeastern Area
Call Number: State Library Forum Room 116 - U.S. Documents A 13.2:F 76
Publication Date: 2000-
Forest Nursery Notes
Call Number: State Library Forum Room 116 - U.S. Documents A 13.74/2:
Publication Date: 1993-
covers from 1993 to 2015

DCNR Bureau of Forestry
Pennsylvania Department of conservation and Natural Resources web page
DPLA (Digital public Library of America)
search for lumbering and Pennsylvania
Power Library - Environmental Studies
electronic resources database available through Pennsylvania's Power Library
Power Library - Pennsylvania Photos and Documents
Search for information on lumbering in Pennsylvania
Tree Search
look for information about your favorite tree

Lumber by workers of the Writers’ Program of the Work Projects Administration in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
Call Number: Rare Collections 504 P384 L4
Publication Date: 1942
Making money off the wood lot by American Saw Mill Machinery Co.
Call Number: Rare Collections PV2727
Publication Date: 1920s
Experiments with Jack Pine and Hemlock for mechanical pulp by J.H. Thickens
Call Number: Rare Collections PV1441
Publication Date: 1912
Measuring and marketing woodlot products by Wilbur R. Mattoon and William B. Barrows.
Call Number: Rare Collections PV2727
Publication Date: 1916
Forestry and Community Development by Samuel T. Dana
Call Number: Rare Collections PV2727
Publication Date: 1918
Prices of lumber by R.C. Bryant
Call Number: Rare Collections 674 B841p 1919
Publication Date: 1919
Scale insects injurious in Pennsylvania by F.W. Trimble
Call Number: Rare Collections PV2724
Publication Date: 1925
Autobiography of Philip H. Dewey: Farmer, lumberman, State official by Philip H. Dewey
Call Number: Rare Collections 974.804 D515Z 1933
Publication Date: 1933
Bicentennial postcard history of Williamsport 1806-2006 by Richard and Miriam Mix
Call Number: Rare Collections 974.85 M699b 2005
Publication Date: 2005
North Pennsylvania Minstrelsy: As sung in the backwoods settlements hunting cabins and lumber camps in Northern Pennsylvania by Henry W. Shoemaker
Call Number: Rare Collections PV2627
Publication Date: 1919
The law relating to lost logs and lumber carried down the river Susquehanna by the flood of June, 1889
Call Number: Rare Collections PV783
Publication Date: 1889
The American woods: Exhibited by actual specimens and with copious explanatory text by Romeyn Beck Hough
Call Number: Rare Collections 634.9 H83
Publication Date: 1888-1928

Learn More About Lumber and Forest Management for Students

The Wanigan by Gloria Whelan
ISBN: 0375814299
Publication Date: 2002-04-09
In 1878, eleven-year-old Annabel and her parents survive a year of adventure which includes floating downriver in two shacks along with a group of Michigan lumbermen moving logs.
The Winter Room by Gary Paulsen
ISBN: 0440404541
Publication Date: 1991-04-01
A young boy growing up on a northern Minnesota farm describes the scenes around him and recounts his old Norwegian uncle's tales of an almost mythological logging past.
Timber by Susannah Brin; Fujiko Miller (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781586590444
Publication Date: 2001-03-05
Jack doesn't think his job at the logging camp will be too hard, but then strange accidents start happening to the other workers, and Jack has to find out who is sabotaging the operation before someone gets killed.
Marven of the Great North Woods by Kathryn Lasky; Kevin Hawkes (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780152168261
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
When his Jewish parents send him to a Minnesota logging camp to escape the influenza epidemic of 1918, ten-year-old Marven finds a special friend.
The Inheritance by Hilda Stahl
ISBN: 9780840732163
Publication Date: 1992-02-01
With the white pines nearly devastated by greedy lumbermen, Lark Barrit struggles to protect the things--and the people--she loves.

Researching about Lumber and Forest Management at the State Library and other library catalogs

The following subject headings and/or keyword searches may help you locate materials about the early iron industry in Pennsylvania using the State Library catalog or your local library catalog.

Loggers - Pennsylvania

Logging Railroads - Pennsylvania - History

Lumbering - Pennsylvania

Lumbering - Pennsylvania - History

Read It, See It

Pennsylvania Lumber Museum

Read more about Lumber, Woods, and Forest Management

Continuous-cover management and attractiveness of managed Scots pine forests. Canadian Journal of Forest Research. v. 50, Issue 8

Read More about the Lumber Museum

Learn More About Lumber and Forest Management for Students

Researching about Lumber and Forest Management at the State Library and other library catalogs