LibGuides: Read It, See It : PA at War: Pennsylvania Military Museum

Pennsylvania Military Museum

Encounter stories of Pennsylvanians in military service and tour exhibits about military equipment, including two massive guns from USS Pennsylvania that were in Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941.

This event took place on Thursday, December 16, 2021

This session was recorded and has been added to the  State Library's Lunch-and-Learn archive online .

Learn More About the Military History

America and the Just War Tradition by Mark David Hall (Editor); J. Daryl Charles (Editor)
Call Number: State Library of Pennsylvania Main Open Stacks 355.00973 H145a 2019
ISBN: 9780268105259
Publication Date: 2019-03-30
DK Eyewitness Books: Vietnam War by DK
ISBN: 9780756611668
Publication Date: 2005-05-16
Presents an illustrated account of the people, places, battles, and weapons of the Vietnam War.
Korean War by Max Hastings
ISBN: 9780671668341
Publication Date: 1988-10-15
Best general history of this conflict. Draws some chilling parallels with Vietnam. In both wars, the President sent troops without a declaration of war, supported unpopular regimes, U.S. strategy relied too much on aerial bombing, and the American public became disillusioned
The Korean War by Michael V. Uschan
ISBN: 1560067047
Publication Date: 2001-03-01
Discusses the history of a war without a winner, beginning of the Cold War, the Cold War turns hot in Korea, North Korea surprised the world, victory at Inchon, China enters the war, the Korean War divides America, waging peace to win a war, and aftermath.
Living Through the Korean War by Charles W. Carey (Editor)
ISBN: 0737729112
Publication Date: 2006-05-04
Presents a collection of articles, political speeches, and personal narratives chronicling the experiences of the Korean War.
Pennsylvania in the Spanish-American War by Richard Sauers
ISBN: 0964304856
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
Remember the Maine -- Mount Gretna -- Camp Thomas -- Camp Alger -- Camp George C. Meade -- The Cuban campaign -- Puerto Rico -- The Philippines -- Finale.
Record of Pennsylvania volunteers in the Spanish-American War, 1898 by Pennsylvania. Adjutant-General's Office. Thomas J Stewart (Thomas Jamison); Wm. Stanley Ray printer.
Call Number: State Library of Pennsylvania Main Closed Stacks 973.894 P3835r 1901
Publication Date: 1901
Also available on the Internet Archives
Sketches from the Spanish-American War. by Hermann Jacobsen
Call Number: State Library of Pennsylvania - Main Closed Stacks 973.89 J153
Publication Date: 1899
Available online through the Internet Archive
The Spanish War by G. J. A. O'Toole
ISBN: 9780393303049
Publication Date: 1986-08-17
On the night of February 15, 1898, the U.S. battleship Maine was ripped in half by an explosion in Havana harbor with the loss of 266 American lives. War with Spain followed nine weeks later. After a three-month fight on two fronts half a world apart, the era of isolation was gone forever, as the United States formed alliances and gained spheres of influence that would shape its destiny for decades to come. G. J. A. O'Toole depicts the sweep of events and also presents new findings on the mysterious mission of the Maine and on the part played by Washington in the expansion of the conflict.
The Vietnam War by DK; Smithsonian Institution (Contribution by)
Call Number: State Library of Pennsylvania Main Open Stacks 959.7043 V678w 2017
ISBN: 9781465457691
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
The Vietnam War is a stirring visual record of the suffering, sacrifice, and heroism in America's longest and bloodiest conflict of the 20th century.
Keystone Battlewagon, U.S.S. Pennsylvania (BB-38) Myron J. Smith Jr., 1944- by Myron J. Smith Jr., 1944-
Call Number: State Library - Main Open Stacks 359.3252 Sm62k
Publication Date: 1983
History of the U.S.S. Pennsylvania
Pearl Harbor: why, how, fleet salvage, and final appraisal, Homer Norman Wallin 1893 by Homer Norman Wallin 1893
Call Number: U.S. Documents D 207.10/2:P 31/2
Publication Date: 1968
Story of Pearl Harbor

All of the articles of this section are from the electronic resources of the Power Library Any Pennsylvanian with a Library card may access these resources. An electronic ecard may be also be created for use in these electronic resources.

Anderson, Michael.Shadows of War: Violence along the Korean Demilitarized Zone. Military Review. Nov/Dec2019, Vol. 99 Issue 6, p90-99. in Academic Search Main edition in the Power Library

Colella, E. Paul. "I suppose I ought to say something about the war": William James, Pragmatism and the War with Spain, 1898. Transactions of the Charles S. Peirce Society. Winter2020, Vol. 56 Issue 1, p81-104.in Academic Search Main edition in the Power Library

JAckson, Michael Gordon. Beyond brinkmanship: Eisenhower, nuclear war fighting, and Korea, 1953-1968. Presidential Studies Quarterly. Mar 2005 vol. 35 Issue 1 in Academic Search Main edition in the Power Library

Papadopoulos, Sarandis. Learning War: The Evolution of Fighting Doctrine in the U.S. Navy, 1898-1945.Parameters: U.S. Army War College. Winter2019/2020, Vol. 49 Issue 4, p112-113.in Academic Search Main edition in the Power Library

Vong, Sam. "Assets of War": Strategic Displacements, Population Movements, and the Uses of Refugees during the Vietnam War, 1965-1973. Journal of American Ethnic History. Spring2020, Vol. 39 Issue 3, p75-100 in Academic Search Main edition in the Power Library

Journal of Military History
The Journal of Military History, the quarterly journal of the Society for Military History, has published scholarly articles on the military history of all eras and geographical areas since 1937. The Journal is fully refereed. It publishes articles, book reviews, a list of recent articles dealing with military history published by other journals, an annual list of doctoral dissertations in military history, and an annual index.
Presidential Studies Quarterly
The award-winning Presidential Studies Quarterly (PSQ) is an interdisciplinary journal of theory and research focusing on the American presidency.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Over 142,000 images and documents on "Military History". Users may also search by specific war or conflict.
Govinfo
A search engine over various government information. Featured article about Veterans Day and the U.S. Serial Set where you can find laws, hearings, pension requests and a lot more.
Naval History and Heritage Command
Naval History reference center
Pennsylvania Department of Military and Veterans Affairs
Pennsylvania's Veterans Registry is here.
Pennsylvania Military Museum
Power Library - Pennsylvania Photos and Documents
Over 2000 images and newspapers concerning the various conflicts that Pennsylvanians have fought in.
U.S. Army Center of Military History
Museums and research centers for the Army
U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center
Resources for adults and students

Camp hygiene: addressed to medical officers of the National Guard of Pennsylvania by Pennsylvania State Board of Health and Vital Statistics
Call Number: Rare Collections PV1555 No. 9
Publication Date: 1888
Bethlehem and its military hospital: an address delivered at the unveiling of a tablet erected by the Pennsylvania Society of the Sons of the Revolution, June 19, 1897... by James M. Beck
Call Number: Rare Collections PV655 No. 6
Publication Date: 1897
Report on an act making an appropriation for the erection of memorial tablets or monuments to mark the position of Pennsylvania commands on the battlefield of Gettysburg by John P. Taylor; Pennsylvania Board of Commissioners on Gettysburg Monuments
Call Number: Rare Collections Flat 973.7 P3811 1889
Publication Date: 1889
In memoriam Lemon Buch First Lieut. 213th Pennsylvania Infantry: Died at Reading January 12, 1914 by Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States. Pennsylvania Commandery
Call Number: Rare Collections PV2414 No. 3m
Publication Date: 1914
The Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus is proud to honor the Tuskegee Airmen for their many contributions: Tuesday June 23, 2009 by Pennsylvania General Assembly. Black Caucus
Call Number: Rare Collections PGA 136.2 T964a 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Catalogue. Pennsylvania Military College by Pennsylvania Military College
Call Number: Rare Collections PV698 No. 1
Our state army and navy: a journal for our volunteer soldiers by Pennsylvania. Department of Military Affairs. Pennsylvania National Guard
Call Number: Rare Collections Flat PMA 1.17/4
Publication Date: 1897-1928
Inspection report of soldiers’ orphan schools by Pennsylvania Commission of Soldiers’ Orphans Schools
Call Number: Rare Collections PV1104 No. 24
Publication Date: 1886
Personal diaries 1862-1865 4 vols. by George Randolph Snowden
Call Number: Rare Collections 973.781 Sn62
Publication Date: 1862-1865
Photographs of Civil War battlefield sites [including Gettysburg] 6 albums.
Call Number: Rare Collections 973.7 P565 1886
Publication Date: 1885-1886
List of soldiers (prisoners of war) belonging to Pennsylvania regiments, who died at the military prison at Andersonville, Georgia from February 26, 1864 to March 24, 1865
Call Number: Rare Collections PV1548 No. 6
Publication Date: 1865
Silver Greys!: the undersigned have been authorized by Governor Curtin, to raise a volunteer company of infantry by William Palmer, James Murray, Gideon Marlett
Call Number: Rare Collections Flat 973.741 Si39 1861
Publication Date: Ca. 1861
To Arms! : the stars and stripes must be defended against armed treason!... by Josiah Harding, 13th Division Pennsylvania Militia
Call Number: Rare Collections Flat 973.741 T55 1861
Publication Date: Ca. 1861
History of the 101st regiment, Pennsylvania volunteer infantry 1861-1865 by John A. Reed; Luther Samuel Dickey
Call Number: Rare Collections 973.74 R2543 1910
Publication Date: 1910
Pennsylvania in the World War: an illustrated history of the 28th Division by United States. Army. Infantry Division, 28th
Call Number: Rare Collections 940.41273 St29p 1921
Publication Date: 1921
Regulations for the exercise of riflemen and light infantry, adapted to the principles of the United States system of field exercise for infantry by Pennsylvania. Adjutant General’s Office
Call Number: Rare Collections 093 P.CR54c 1824
Publication Date: 1824
Statements relating to a navy yard in the Delaware: for the construction and equipment of iron-clad steam-ships of war, proposed to be established at League Island by Philadelphia Board of Trade
Call Number: Rare Collections PV98 No. 3
Publication Date: 1862
Reunion of the survivors of the Ninetieth Penna. Vols. (infantry) on the battlefield of Gettysburg, September 2nd & 3rd, 1888 & September 1st & 2nd, 1889 by Ninetieth Pennsylvania Volunteers Survivors Association
Call Number: Rare Collections 973.74 N628 1888-1889
Publication Date: 1889
Proceedings of the encampments of the Department of Pennsylvania, Grand Army of the Republic by Grand Army of the Republic. Department of Pennsylvania.
Call Number: Rare Collections PV155 No.9
Journal of the annual convention of the Department of Pennsylvania Woman’s Relief Corps, auxiliary to the Grand Army of the Republic by Woman’s Relief Corps
Call Number: Rare Collections 369.15 P384
Publication Date: 1880s

Researching about Military History at the State Library and other library catalogs

The following subject headings and/or keyword searches may help you locate materials about military history in Pennsylvania using the State Library catalog or your local library catalog. When searching you could also add each branch of the military.

Spanish American War- 1898

Vietnamese Conflict -1961-1975

Vietnam War -1961-1975

Vietnam War. United States. History

United States. History. Military

Read It, See It

Pennsylvania Military Museum

Learn More About the Military History

Read More About the Pennsylvania Military Museum

Read More About Military History for Students

Researching about Military History at the State Library and other library catalogs