LibGuides: Read It, See It : PA Iron Industry: Cornwall Iron Furnace

Cornwall Iron Furnace

Explore the most complete charcoal-fueled iron-making complex in the United States.

Thursday, September 16, 2021 Discover about the Cornwall Iron Furnace https://www.cornwallironfurnace.org/

This session was recorded and has been added to the  State Library's Lunch-and-Learn archive online .

Read More About Iron Furnaces in Pennsylvania

Anthracite Heritage Museum and Scranton Iron Furnaces by Harold W. Aurand; Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: State Library Main Open Stacks 917.4844 Au62a
ISBN: 9780811729598
Publication Date: 2002-10-29
Guide book about the coal region and iron furnaces
The iron industry in Pennsylvania : with a listing of national, state, and private sites related to the Pennsylvania iron industry and open to the public by Gerald G. Eggart
Publication Date: 1994
listing of various blast furnaces in Pennsylvania
The rise of an iron community an economic history of Lebanon County, Pennsylvania from 1740-1865 by Frederick Keiper Miller
Call Number: State Library Main Closed Stacks 330.9748 M613r
Publication Date: 1948
Scranton Iron Furnaces, Lackawanna County, Pa : hot metal by Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission
Call Number: State Library Pennsylvania Documents PYH673.17 45/6 S433i 1998
Publication Date: 1998
brochure that includes map
Trace metals related to historical iron smelting at Hopewell Furnace National Historical Site, Berks and Chester Counties, Pennsylvania by U.S. Geologic Survey
Call Number: State Library U.S. Government Documents I19.127:2011-3101
Publication Date: 2011
library catalog takes you to a link for an online source

Grossmann, John. "From the ashes: at a Pennsylvania 'iron plantation' park rangers are discovering unique stories about the industrial revolution." National Parks, vol. 84, no. 1, Winter 2010. Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete, Available through the Power Library

Koman, Rita G. "Hopewell Furnace: A Pennsylvania Iron-Making Plantation. Teaching with Historic Places." ERIC: Reports, vol. 22, U.S. Department of Education, 2002. Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete,2021 Available through the Power Library Power Library

Simcoe, Charles R. "Iron in America: 1645 to 1850." Advanced Materials & Processes, vol. 172, no. 1, 2014, p. 28+. Gale Academic OneFile. Available in the Power Library

Directory, iron and steel plants. by Association of Iron and Steel Engineers.
Call Number: State Library Main Closed Stacks 338.47672 D628
Publication Date: 1949-
Directory of various iron and steel plants in Pennsylvania. State Library has up to 2013
The miner's lamp by Scranton Anthracite Museum Associates.
Call Number: State Library Newsletters 974.84405 M662
newsletter of the Anthracite Association

Digital Public Library of America
Results of searching for images of Iron works from all over the U.S. including Cornwall, PA
Explore PA History
This site explores many regions of Pennsylvania. The information includes the stories of iron making in Pennsylvania over the years. Includes various lesson plans
Historical Markers database
This page shows a Pennsylvania historical marker showing an Iron furnace in Huntingdon County, PA
PA Photos and Docs
Over 200 items on the Cornwall Furnace from the Power Library's collection of digitized images
PHMC Museum
collections of the Pennsylvania Historic and Museum Sites

De re metallica by Georg Agricola
Call Number: Rare Collections 669 Ag83m 1950
Publication Date: 1556
The first comprehensive study on mining, refining, smelting and metallurgy. This 1950 facsimile and translation is adapted from the original text and a 1912 translation by Herbert and Lou Henry Hoover.
Documents relating to the manufacture of iron in Pennsylvania: published on behalf of the Convention of ironmasters, which met in Philadelphia, on the twentieth of December, 1849 by Convention of Iron Masters (1849: Philadelphia, Pa.)
Call Number: Rare Collections 093 P.G28 1850
Publication Date: 1850
Report of a committee to the Iron and Coal Association of the State of Pennsylvania by Iron and Coal Association of the State of Pennsylvania
Call Number: Rare Collections PV405 No. 7
Publication Date: 1846
The link is to the Internet Archive digital document. Please contact Michael Lear at the State Library if you wish to see the original.
Partition. Coleman vs. Grubb. Argued and decided in the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania at Harrisburg. June term, 1852 by Pennsylvania. Supreme Court
Call Number: Rare Collections 093 P.KB58 1852
Publication Date: 1852
A statement of some of the advantages of the vicinity of Johnstown, Pa. in the manufacture of iron, and the preliminary announcement of a company for carrying on this industry at that point. by Pennsylvania Iron Company
Call Number: Rare Collections PV863 No. 7
Publication Date: 1852
Introduction to a history of ironmaking and coal mining in Pennsylvania by James Moore Swank
Call Number: Rare Collections 338.47672 Sw24i 1878
Publication Date: 1878
The story of iron and steel by Writers' Program of the Work Projects Administration in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Call Number: Rare Collections 504 P384 Iron
Publication Date: 1944
The industries, trade and commerce of Harrisburg by George H. Morgan
Call Number: Rare Collections 338.9748 M821i 1874
Publication Date: 1874
Homestead. A complete history of the struggle of July, 1892, between the Carnegie steel company, limited, and the Amalgamated association of iron and steel workers. by Alfred Gordon Burgoyne
Call Number: Rare Collections 331.8928 St3 B91 1893
Publication Date: 1893
Remarks of Hon. Simon Cameron of Pennsylvania on presenting a memorial in reference to the manufacture of iron in Pennsylvania delivered in the Senate of the United States, December 15, 1858. by Simon Cameron
Call Number: Rare Collections 815 C145
Publication Date: 1858
A history of the Pennsylvania Steel Works located at Baldwin Penna. R.R. Station, Dauphin Co., PA, from their origin to the present time. by Rev. J.H. Wood
Call Number: Rare Collections PV 380 no.8
Publication Date: 1879
A statement of some of the advantages of the vicinity of Johnstown, Pa., in the manufacture of iron, and the preliminary announcement of a company for carrying on this industry at that point. by Pennsylvania Iron Company. Johnstown, Pa.; S Draper
Call Number: Rare Collections PV 863 no.7
Publication Date: 1852

Learn More About Iron Furnaces for Students

How Stuff Works
How Iron smelting works

Researching iron furnaces and iron making at the State Library and other library catalogs

The following subject headings and/or keyword searches may help you locate materials about the early iron industry in Pennsylvania using the State Library catalog or your local library catalog.

Cornwall Furnace (Cornwall, Pa,)
Cornwall Ore Bank
Iron founding
Iron founding -- Pennsylvania
Iron industry and trade -- Pennsylvania -- History
If researching the later steel industry use: Steel industry and trade -- Pennsylvania

Other furnaces may be located using the name of the furnace or surviving site:

Reading Furnace (Pa.)
Hopewell Furnace National Historic Site (Pa.)

Later steel companies include:

Pennsylvania Steel Company
Carnegie Steel Company
Bethlehem Steel Company

People associated with Cornwall Iron Furnace include:

Grubb, Peter, 1707 or 1708- approximately 1754
Grubb, Peter, 1740-1786
Grubb, Curttis, 1730-1789
Coleman, Robert, 1748-1825

Read It, See It

Cornwall Iron Furnace

Read More About Iron Furnaces in Pennsylvania

Read More About the Cornwall iron Furnace

Learn More About Iron Furnaces for Students

Researching iron furnaces and iron making at the State Library and other library catalogs