A representative sampling of valuable items on Abraham Lincoln in the State Library's collection that have been digitized to commemorate the Lincoln Bicentennial in 2009. Items include the address of Honorable Edward Everett at the consecration of the National Cemetery at Gettysburg on November 19, 1893 with the dedicatory speech of President Lincoln; and the hanging of the Lincoln conspirators in Washington DC in 1865.
State Library of Pennsylvania – Ambler Gazette Newspaper
This collection includes incomplete runs of the Ambler Gazette from 1897 to 1919, that are held in the State Library of Pennsylvania. This is a weekly newspaper that reports news from multiple communities in Montgomery County. The local news reported in the paper is, in many cases, the only record of the development of the southern half of Montgomery County.
A weekly newspaper from the small community of Elizabethville, Pa. Began in 1893; ceased Jan. 7, 1972. Merged with Williamstown Times and Millersburg Sentinel to form the Upper Dauphin Sentinel. Run may have issues missing.
A selection of documents on the battles of Fort Necessity and Braddock's Campaign, along with background on French and English relations as well as their interactions with the Native American tribes of the northeastern colonies in the 18th and early 19th centuries. Originally digitized to celebrate the 250th anniversary of the Battle of Fort Necessity.
The major Lancaster paper of the time period. After merger with the Lancaster Journal, it was known as the Intelligencer and Journal from October 08, 1839-December 21, 1847, before resuming its original title. Scattered issues from 1833-1852.
The major Lewistown, Mifflin County paper of the time period. In 1843 it changed to this name from the Lewistown Republican, and Mifflin County Workingmens' Advocate, then to the Republican. Issues from 1840-1844, though not all issues are present.
A paper from the small community of Marietta, Pa., which was famous for religious tolerance and abolition advocacy. Issues from September, 1833-January 22, 1835, though not all issues are present. Running title is the Marietta Advocate, though some issues are also headed Advocate.
A paper from the small community of Marietta, Pa., which was famous for religious tolerance and abolition advocacy. Issues from Feb. 27, 1827-Jan. 08, 1830. Paper was known as the Pioneer and Country Advertiser from 1826 to Sept. 22, 1827(?), as the Marietta Pioneer from Sept. 29, 1827-Sept.26, 1828, and as the Pioneer from Oct. 3, 1828 to its apparent cease in 1834. Run may have issues missing.
A weekly newspaper from the small community of Mercer, Pa. Began in 1865. Ceased in Jan. 1887. Continues: Whig and dispatch. Merged with: Mercer Republican (Mercer, Pa.), to form: Dispatch and Republican. Run may have issues missing.
Items include a report on the 1907 Dar Mine Disaster relief efforts; the Twin Shaft mining disaster investigation, 1986, Early Indian history along the Susquehanna River, Problem of the Irish in America speech, 1886, American Freeman, 1867.
The Pennsylvania bulletin is the official gazette of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. It contains notices, regulations and other documents filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau and supplements the Pennsylvania code.
Pennsylvania Capitol Centennial Collection Historic descriptions, explanations, and illustrated visitors' guidebooks to the State Capitol Complex in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, in recognition of the 100th anniversary of the dedication of the Pennsylvania Capitol Building.
Items related to the care, management and supervision of natural resources in order to preserve and protect them through prudent management. General and specific topical texts in the natural and industrial sciences, such as paleontology and engineering.
Contains reports of Pennsylvania State Agencies such as the Annual Reports of the Eastern and Western State Penitentiaries from the 1800's - early 1900's; Reports of the State Quarantine Board 1896, 1899; Reports from the Bureau of Mines, Reports of the Committee on Lunacy, late 1800's; Proceedings of the Pennsylvania History Society annual meetings, 1906-1908; and more.
Includes the Harrisburg Newspaper Index containing marriages and deaths from four newspapers from 1799 to 1827; the Necrology Scrapbook with obituaries clipped from Pennsylvania newspapers from October 1891 to March 1904, including many Civil War veterans; and Courts & Lawyers of Pennsylvania, a History, 1623-1923, as well as a number of other family history related books and pamphlets.
This collection contains periodicals, both newspaper and magazine in format, from the United States Indian School in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, as well as Pennsylvania State documents and other digital versions of works on the Native American populations of Pennsylvania.
The movement of humans, animals and goods from one location to another within Pennsylvania and with other states. Items in this collection reflect air, land (road), railroad, water, cable, pipeline and space transportation.
The Christian Observer was a Presbyterian paper from Philadelphia, Pa., which was both anti-Catholic and against Tractarianism, also known as Puseyism, a movement started in Oxford which attempted to bring the Presbyterian faith closer to the Roman Catholic. Issues from May 14, 1840- Dec.28, 1850, though not all issues are present.
The Daily Chronicle newspaper from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, reported on a mix of political, criminal and religious proceedings, as well as local news. The title began in 1841, continuing the Daily chronicle and general advertiser, and is thought to have ceased in 1847, according to American newspapers, 1821-1936 : a union list of files available in the United States and Canada, edited by Winifred Gregory.
A newspaper published by the American Sunday-School Union, and organization rooted in the First Day Society. Both organizations were missionary in nature, with the First Day Society formed to found and promote Sunday Schools in churches. The American Sunday-School Union was also a missionary organization. Reports on the founding and running of Sunday Schools, and contains advice on the studying of scripture. Reports from missions around the world are common. These issues are from the Civil War years, and include battlefield and battlefield hospital and missionary reports. Issues from January 4, 1862 to December 2, 1868, though not all issues are present.
State Library of Pennsylvania – State’s Advocate Newspaper
A paper from the Northumberland County town of Milton. Covers political events, local, state, national and foreign, along with local news. The State Library of Pennsylvania holds March 02, 1826-Feb.12, 1829 and Sept.08, 1831.
A newspaper of the Pennsylvania and New York Colonization societies, covering immigrant issues, African American affairs, religious tracts and tract societies, and various other issues, such as the Apprentices’ Library company of Philadelphia. Contains advice and informational columns on household affairs and farming. Also reports on the Back to Africa movement and African affairs in other countries, such as Haiti. Published fortnightly at first, then weekly, in 1838, then published monthly in at least January-June 1839, beginning with the New Series, which restarted numbering. Issues from March 14, 1838 to December 26, 1838.
A weekly newspaper from the small community of Titusville, Pa. Began in 1898; ceased in 1912. Titusville herald (Titusville, Pa. : 1900 : Weekly), and: Titusville evening courier, daily, interchanged circulation and "good will", selling exclusive rights for weekly circulation to Titusville courier, and for daily to Titusville herald, August 1911. Run may have issues missing.
A newspaper from the small community of Titusville, Pa. It was issued semiweekly from September 4, 1900 to September 1904. Then it was issued weekly from September 9, 1904 to August 31, 1911. Titusville herald (Titusville, Pa. : 1900 : Weekly), and Titusville evening courier, daily, interchanged circulation and "good will," selling exclusive rights for weekly circulation to Titusville courier, and for daily circulation to Titusville herald, August 1911. Run may have issues missing.
A wide variety of Civil War literature, including a report on the battle of Gettysburg, preparations for the internment of the remains of the dead at Gettysburg, testimony of deplorable conditions in Confederate prisons, speeches for and against Reconstruction, and more.
A newspaper from the city of Wilkes-Barre, Pa. It was issued daily except Sundays. Began June 6, 1872. Ceased in 1873? A weekly edition was also published called the Luzerne union. In 1873 publisher began a new numbering.